Teacher’s Day celebrated today ; VP to confer National awards to Teachers on Teacher’s Day today

September 05, 2017:     Today is Teacher’s Day. The day is observed to commemorate the birth anniversary of academician, statesman and philosopher Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan who was the second President and first Vice President of India.President, Vice President and Prime Minister have greeted teachers on the occasion of Teacher’s Day.
In his message, President Ram Nath Kovind said, India has a warm tradition of the Guru Shishya parampara by which teachers impart their knowledge to students and empower them. He said, it is the moral responsibility of all to pay respect and regard to teachers, as they are role models who guide children to become good and productive human beings.

Mr Kovind said, teachers also develop the creativity of children and kindle a desire in them to be innovative.

In his message, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu said, teachers are the real nation builders as they shape the future of every child and mold him or her into a responsible citizen. Prime Minister Narendra Modi in a tweet said, he salutes the teaching community that is devoted to nurturing minds and spreading the joys of education in society. He said, teachers have a central role in realising the dream of a ‘New India’ that is driven by cutting edge research and innovation.

The Prime Minister called on people to make the next 5 years about teach to transform, educate to empower and learn to lead. Mr Modi had mentioned about it in the last edition of Mann ki Baat programme on All India Radio. Mr Modi also paid tributes to Dr. S Radhakrishnan on his birth anniversary. AIR correspondent reports many programmes are being organised across the country on the occasion of Teacher’s Day.

In the national capital, Vice President M Venkaiah Naidu will confer the National Award to Teachers. The award is given as public recognition to meritorious teachers working in primary, middle and secondary schools. The awards which were instituted in 1958 carries a medal, certificate, and award money of 50 thousand rupees.

Special Awards also have been instituted for special educators who promote inclusive education in schools. President Ram Nath Kovind will also meet the Awardees at a special event in Rashtrapati Bhavan.       (AIR NEWS)

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Most Popular



More Posts
To Top