Polling for bye-elections to 4 LS & 8 Assembly Constituencies underway

ProMASS: Nov 19, 2016: Voting is underway for four Lok Sabha and eight Assembly Constituencies, spread across seven states today. In Assam, 13 percent polling has been reported till last report came in for the Lakhimpur Loksabha and Baithalangso assembly seat. Voting will be continued till 4 p.m.

CEO Mukesh Sahu said that no untoward incident has been reported as proper security arrangement has been made. He said that one EVM has been replaced. People have seen queuing up at several voting stations much before the commencement of polling. Five candidates are in the fray for the Lakhimpur seat where polling was required after Sarbanand Sonowal who represented the seat became Chief Minister of Assam.

In Madhya Pradesh, voting is continuing in peaceful manner at Shahdol Lok Sabha and Nepanagar assembly seats. Elaborate security arrangements have been made. More than 18 lakh voters are voting in the by-election for Shahdol Lok Sabha and Nepanagar assembly seats today to decide the fate of 21 candidates.The voting will be till 5 p.m. The result will be on November 22.

In Tripura, voting for by-polls to two assembly constituencies of Khowai and Barjala began this morning. AIR correspondent reports that 57 percent votes were polled in Barjala constituency while in Khowai constituency 60 percent polling reported till now.

In Tamil Nadu, brisk polling has been reported in three Assembly constituencies. 52 per cent votes have been polled in Tiruparakundram, 50 percent in Thanjavur and 62 percent in Aravakurichi. In Puducherry, Voting percentage was reported as 60 percent till 1:30 p.m.

Courtesy: AIR NEWS

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

Most Popular



More Posts
To Top