Tripura by-polls remain largely peaceful: 78.58 pc turnout recorded (Updated)

Agartala, Jun 23, 2022, ENEWSTIME Desk/IANS

By-elections to four Assembly constituencies in Tripura held on Thursday (June 23) were largely peaceful barring a few stray incidents.


Tripura-by-polls-77-pc-turnoutAccording to CEO Tripura Facebook post, the estimated figures, 78.58 per cent of votes were cast till 5pm today. The highest per cent of votes were cast in 57-Jubarajnagar in North Tripura – 83.12 pc followed by  46-Surma Assembly Constituency – 83.11 pc. Percentages of votes cast in 6-Agartala and 8-Town Bordowali Assembly constituencies are 77.35 and 71.13 respectively.


Even as the by-polls were almost violence-free, some stray incidents were reported.  A police spokesman said that police constable Samir Saha was stabbed by unknown miscreants at Ujan Abhoynagar under Agartala assembly constituency. Family members of Saha, who was admitted to the hospital in a critical condition, alleged that ruling BJP goons attacked him.


| Also Read : Read reactions of CM, Dy CM, Sudip; Casting 51.77pc till 1pm |


There were reports of intimidation, and clashes in different places of Agartala, Town Bordowali, Surma, and Jubarajnagar Assembly constituencies in three districts -- West Tripura, North Tripura and Dhalai.


Opposition parties including Trinamool Congress, Congress and CPI-M-led Left alleged that BJP supporters and their goons launched a series of attacks, intimidated and prevented people from voting and indulged in booth capturing while security forces did nothing.


The BJP leaders, however, denied the allegations.


Central and state security forces were deployed to hold the vital by-elections being termed as a 'semi-final' before the elections to the 60-member Assembly early next year.


In all, the 1,89,032-strong electorate would decide the political fortune of 22 candidates including Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha and seven women.


The by-polls were necessitated after the resignation of three BJP MLAs and the death of CPI-M legislator Ramendra Chandra Debnath. The votes will be counted on June 26.