Enewstime News Images
Tripura News Briefcase

Tripura West Lok Sabha & Ramnagar Assembly By-polls Kick Off Amid Tight Security

Polling for the Tripura West Lok Sabha seat and the Ramnagar assembly segment, where by-polls are being held, started on Friday morning under strict security arrangements.

Election officials said that 14.63 lakh voters, including 7.34 lakh women electorate, would decide the fate of nine candidates in the politically important parliamentary seat.

The main contest is expected between former Tripura Chief Minister and BJP candidate Biplab Kumar Deb, and state Congress president Asish Kumar Saha, of the INDIA bloc.

Meantime, Tripura Chief Minister Dr Manik Saha and INDIA Bloc candidate Asish Kumar Saha cast their votes at Tulsibati School today morning. 

BJP Candidate Biplab Kumar Deb will soon will cast his vote in Udaipur.

The voting also started simultaneously for the by-election to the Ramnagar Assembly seat, which fell vacant after the demise of sitting BJP MLA Surajit Datta on December 28 last year.

Mayor of the Agartala Municipal Corporation Dipak Majumder is contesting as the BJP candidate while Ratan Das of CPIM is another contestant.

Two candidates, one each of the BJP and the CPI-M, are trying their electoral fortunes in the Ramnagar Assembly by-poll.

Over 20,000 polling personnel would conduct the voting in 1,682 polling stations in the Tripura West Parliamentary constituency.

Since morning, voters started queuing peacefully in their respective polling booths. Voting would continue till 5 p.m. without any interruption.

The ruling BJP leaders are optimistic and expressed satisfaction over the conduct of polls. However, opposition leaders started raising complaints like forcing out their agents from different polling booths. (Edited)

(Tripura, Tripura News)

You can share this post!